OFFICIAL: 2021 Ballon d'Or winner announced


The winner of the 2021 Ballon d'Or award was officially revealed in a ceremony in Paris on Monday night.

Argentina and Paris Saint-Germain superstar Messi has once again written his name into football's history books after becoming the first player ever to win seven Ballons d'Or, beating Robert Lewandowski, Jorginho and many more to the 2021 accolade.  

Scroll through the gallery above to see all the award winners from the 2021 Ballon d'Or awards ceremony, as well as the top 10 for the men's prize

The Argentine has had an eventful year, during which he led his nation to victory in the 2021 Copa America tournament – for which he was named the top scorer, the top assist-provider and the best player – for what was their first major title since 1993, while he also helped his former club FC Barcelona win their 31st Copa del Rey title in April.

"I don't know how many years I have left, but I hope there will still be many because I am having enormous fun," Messi said after receiving the award from his good friend Luis Suarez. 

Of the man who came second, Lewandowski, Messi said: "I'd like to mention Robert, it's been a real honour to compete with him. I think France Football should award you your 2020 Ballon d'Or, you deserved it."

Africa's highest-placed representative is Egypt and Liverpool sensation Mohamed Salah, who finished in seventh place, while perennial contender Cristiano Ronaldo of Manchester United could only manage sixth spot this time around, falling outside the top five for the first time since 2010.

There were also two new awards on the night, namely the Striker of the Year prize, which went to Bayern Munich and Poland star Lewandowski, and the Club of the Year accolade, which was claimed by European champions Chelsea.

Read: Ronaldo slams Ballon d'Or organiser

The other award winners on the night were Spain and FC Barcelona Femenina star Alexia Putellas, who won the Women's Ballon d'Or, young Barcelona and Spain star Pedri, who won the Kopa trophy for the best player under the age of 21, and Paris Saint-Germain and Italy shot-stopper Gianluigi Donnarumma, who was named the best goalkeeper of the year.

Award winners

2021 Ballon d'Or

Lionel Messi (FC Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain & Argentina)

Women's Ballon d'Or

Alexia Putellas (FC Barcelona Femenina & Spain)

Yashin Trophy (best goalkeeper)

Gianluigi Donnarumma (AC Milan/Paris Saint-Germain & Italy)

Kopa Trophy (best U21 player)

Pedri (FC Barcelona & Spain)

Striker of the Year

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich & Poland)

Club of the Year