Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah, Edouard Mendy nominated for Confederation of African Football award


The Confederation of African Football has announced its Men's Player of the Year nominees, including the likes of Sadio Mane, Mohamed Salah and Edouard Mendy, for the awards ceremony that will be held later this year. 

The country with the most nominees for the award is Senegal, who have five players nominated after their 2021 Africa Cup of Nations triumph in February after they beat Egypt in the final. 

Here are the highest-paid African footballers in the game today:


Chelsea shot-stopper Mendy, Mane and Nampalys Mendy were among the listed players from the Lions of Teranga. Mane played an integral role in his nation's continental feat, winning the AFCON Player of the Tournament prize, before he later helped the team qualify for the 2022 FIFA World Cup, making him an early favourite to win the main prize.

His former Liverpool teammates Salah and Naby Keita have also been nominated after helping Jurgen Klopp's side compete on all fronts and win two domestic titles last season. 

Algeria talisman Riyad Mahrez ended his 2021/22 campaign with the prestige of being Manchester City's top goalscorer in all competitions. The tricky winger scored 24 times and created nine assists as he helped his side win the Premier League title, earning him a nomination for Africa's biggest individual accolade.

Morocco goalkeeper Yassine Bounou also features after he starred for Sevilla last season, earning himself the inaugural LaLiga mid-season African MVP award, which was launched earlier this year.

Read: Pitso, Percy & Pirates nominated for CAF awards

The 31-year-old shot-stopper was voted as the winner after keeping an impressive 11 clean sheets in 20 LaLiga matches from August 2021 till February 2022.

Perhaps unsurprisingly, Cameroon striker Vincent Aboubakar was also nominated after he won ended the 2021 AFCON as the top goalscorer with eight strikes.  

Here are all 30 CAF Men's Player of the Year 2022 nominees:

Riyad Mahrez (Algeria, Manchester City)
Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso, Aston Villa)
Blati Toure (Burkina Faso, Pyramids FC)
Edmund Tapsoba (Burkina Faso, Bayer Leverkusen)
Andre-Frank Zambo Anguissa (Cameroon, Napoli)
Karl Toko Ekambi (Cameroon, Lyon)
Vincent Aboubacar (Cameroon, Al Nassr)
Youssouf M’Changama (Comoros, Guingamp)
Franck Kessie (Ivory Coast, AC Milan)
Sebastien Haller (Ivory Coast, Ajax)
Mohamed Abdelmonem (Egypt, Al Ahly)
Mohamed Elneny (Egypt, Arsenal)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt, Liverpool)
Mohamed El Shenawy (Egypt, Al Ahly)
Musa Barrow (Gambia, Bologna)
Naby Keita (Guinea, Liverpool)
Aliou Dieng (Mali, Al Ahly)
Hamari Traore (Mali, Rennes)
Yves Bissouma (Mali, Tottenham Hotspur)
Achraf Hakimi (Morocco, PSG)
Sofiane Boufal (Morocco, Angers)
Yahya Jabrane (Morocco, Wydad AC)
Yassine Bounou (Morocco, Sevilla)
Moses Simon (Nigeria, Nantes)
Edouard Mendy (Senegal, Chelsea)
Kalidou Koulibaly (Senegal, Napoli)
Nampalys Mendy (Senegal, Leicester City)
Sadio Mane (Senegal, Liverpool)
Saliou Ciss (Senegal, Nancy)
Ali Maaloul (Tunisia, Al Ahly)