Serie A Wrap: AC Milan secure league title


AC Milan were crowned champions for the first time since the 2010/11 season after thrashing Sassuolo 3-0 thanks to a brace by Olivier Giroud at Mapei Stadium.

Milan were unchanged from their win over Atalanta, as Rade Krunic played just behind Olivier Giroud, both flanked by Rafael Leao and Alexis Saelemaekers.

The Rossoneri were on the front foot in the early exchanges and Giroud gave them the lead in the 17th minute with a low sweeping strike in the box after a cut-back by Leao from a counter-attack.

The visitors went 2-0 up just after the half-hour mark as Leao did damage on his flank to get to the byline and played back a square pass that was finished by Giroud from close range, who completed his brace.

Stefano Pioli's charges notched up the third goal four minutes later after Franck Kessie powered home a first-time strike from another cut-back by Leao.

Zlatan Ibrahimovic thought he had added a fourth goal with a header in the last 12 minutes but his goal was disallowed for offside, after yet another cross by Leao.

Here are 10 stars clubs could soon sign as free agents! 

Inter Milan could not defend their title and finished as runners-up despite a 3-0 win over Sampdoria at Stadio Giuseppe Meazza.

Inter recalled Denzel Dumfries and Joaquin Correa as the two changes from the win over Cagliari last weekend.

Simeone Inzaghi's charges struggled to get going in the first stanza, although they did trouble goalkeeper Emil Audero, who kept them at bay a couple of times.

However, the Nerazzurri had a lightning start in the second stanza as Ivan Perisic eventually broke the deadlock within four minutes with a low curled strike into the bottom corner.

Correa quickly doubled the lead for Inter six minutes later with a first-time strike over Audero after he was perfectly setup by Hakan Calhanoglu.

The Argentine put the hosts out of sight just before the hour-mark with a strike across goal that found the bottom corner and grabbed his brace after a good turn in the box.

However, AC Milan were also cruising by the same scoreline simultaneously and Inter settled for a runners-up spot, as they surrendered their title to the Rossoneri.