World Cup Final Ref Hits Back At Messi Goal Claims

Referee Szymon Marciniak and Lionel Messi
Referee Szymon Marciniak and Lionel Messi

World Cup final referee Szymon Marciniak has responded to claims that one of Lionel Messi's goals in the final should have been ruled out.

French outlet L'Equipe reported after the final that Messi's second goal in extra-time should not have counted as some of Argentina's substitutes were on the field before the ball crossed the line.

World Cup Winner: I Tried To Convince Messi To Play For Spain

The South Americans did go on to win the World Cup via the penalty shoot-out, but the Polish referee also pointed out a incident that could have seen Mbappe's third goal ruled out for a similar offence.

“The French have not said anything about these photos, where you can see that there were seven French players on the field before Mbappe scored,” the referee said, as per TalkSPORT.

“The game was never affected. How much impact did the players who came onto the field have? It’s looking for little things. This is not a serious business.”

The referee also revealed that there was no ill-will from the French players after the penalty shoot-out.

“The French thanked me after the game and were satisfied with our performance,” he added. 

“Everyone came up to us and shook our hands.

“I talked a little bit with Hugo Lloris and Olivier Giroud. Kylian Mbappe even gave me a hug.

“He was very disappointed by the loss. I think it was a human response. I also hugged him and tried to comfort him.”

You must be SIGNED IN to read and post comments.   

Show Comments ()
Match Centre
All Tournaments
Live Scores
South Africa Premier League
Blow the whistle

Do you have a news tip or story you would like to share with Soccer Laduma?

Email our news team
Feedback & Complaints

Got something on your mind? Get in touch!

Get in touch!