Official: FIFA Names 14 Nominees For Best Men's Award


FIFA has revealed the 14 nominees for The Best Men's Player Award 2022, with Cristiano Ronaldo being left off the list. 

Ronaldo 'Stuns' Al Nassr Teammates In Training

On Thursday, the world football's governing body revealed the names competing for The Best Men's Player Award, a list that includes 2022 FIFA World Cup winner Lionel Messi and losing finalist Kylian Mbappe. 

England midfielder Jude Bellingham is the youngest player among the candidates for the prize, while Morocco's Achraf Hakimi, Egypt's Mohamed Salah and Senegal's Sadio Mane are Africa's only representatives.

Poland and Barcelona forward Robert Lewandowski, who claimed the trophy in 2021, has also been named in the 14-man list. 

Full list of nominees

Julian Alvarez (River Plate/Manchester City, Argentina)

Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund, England)

Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France)

Kevin De Bruyne (Manchester City, Belgium)

Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund/Manchester City, Norway) 

Achraf Hakimi (Paris Saint-Germain, Morocco) 

Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich/Barcelona, Poland)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool/Bayern Munich, Senegal)

Kylian Mbappe (Paris Saint-Germain, France)

Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain, Argentina)

Luka Modric (Real Madrid, Croatia)

Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain, Brazil)

Mohamed Salah (Liverpool, Egypt)

Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid, Brazil)

Messi Equals Ronaldo's Goal Record

The winner of the individual accolade will be named at the FIFA awards ceremony on 27 February. 

You must be SIGNED IN to read and post comments 

Click here to register!


Show Comments ()
Match Centre
All Tournaments
Live Scores
South Africa Premier League
Blow the whistle

Do you have a news tip or story you would like to share with Soccer Laduma?

Email our news team
Feedback & Complaints

Got something on your mind? Get in touch!

Get in touch!