Swallows Secure First Win Under Middendorp

Mbulelo Wambi
Mbulelo Wambi

Swallows FC got their first win under coach Ernst Middendorp after defeating Chippa United 2-0 on Friday evening.

DStv Premiership

Result: Swallows FC 2-0 Chippa United

Date: 06 January 2023

Venue: Dobsonville Stadium

The Chillis Boys recalled Abdi Banda following his return from injury, with Konqobe dropping to the bench after last week's draw against Stellenbosch.

Swallows, meanwhile, handed a start to Waseem Isaacs upfront after the 2-0 defeat to Mamelodi Sundowns, with Ernst Middendorp's troops looking to move away from the danger zone.

These two sides have only four times in the top flight since 2020, but all four matches have ended in draws, including a 0-0 stalemate in Soweto last season.

However, there would be no goalless draw this time around as Swallows got the breakthrough in the 34th minute courtesy of a strike from Mbulelo Wambi, who netted his second goal of the campaign.

Are you enjoying our new online stadium? is Soccer Laduma’s new home. You’ll not only get the best soccer news, but you will also be able to comment on articles, view other comments, save articles to read later and much more! SIGN UP for free and explore our new home!

Middendorp opted for a change at the start of the second half, as Siyabonga Khumalo made way for Pentjie Zulu, while Chippa introduced Andile Mbenyane and Sergio Kammes for Ronaldo Maarman and Banda.

The introduction of Zulu paid off with 20 minutes to go, as the substitute set up Kagiso Malinga, who opened his account for the season by firing past goalkeeper Stanley Nwabali.

The Chilli Boys were unable to find a way back into the contest in the latter stages of the half and slump a sixth defeat of the campaign.

Swallows, meanwhile, secure their fourth win of the campaign, which takes the side up to 12th position.

Here's how they lined up:

Swallows: 31. Mbanjwa, 32. Lukhubeni, 34. Sait, 4. Allan, 28. Sasman, 42. Khumalo, 6. Mthethwa, 18. Damons, 6. Malinga, 47. Wambi, 3. Isaacs

Subs: 50. Tshabalala, 43. Zulu, 39. Matsheke, 2. Sibiya, 7. Mtshali, 20. Musonda, 12. Makua, 44. Mngonyama

Chippa United: 1. Nwabali, 2. Mdunyelwa, 4. Banda, 5. Pietersen, 10. Matrose, 14. Mkhize, 17. Maarman, 20. Mathiane, 28. Lebitso, 36. Luthuli, 37. Ighodaro.

Subs: 16. Myataza, 33. Chabalala, 25. Kammies, Ntsabo, 6. Poggenpoel, 24. Konqobe, 11. Mayo, 29. Kambidu, 7. Mbenyane.

You must be SIGNED IN to read and post comments.   

Click here to register

Show Comments ()
Match Centre
All Tournaments
Live Scores
South Africa Premier League
Blow the whistle

Do you have a news tip or story you would like to share with Soccer Laduma?

Email our news team
Feedback & Complaints

Got something on your mind? Get in touch!

Get in touch!