Late Own Goal Hands Richard Bay Win Over City

Pitso Dladla
Pitso Dladla

Richards Bay FC returned to winning ways in the DStv Premiership after defeating Cape Town City 1-0 on Wednesday night.

DStv Premiership

Result: Richards Bay FC 1-0 Cape Town City

Date: 19 October 2022

Venue: King Godwill Zwelithini Stadium

Lyle Lakay was brought back into the Citizens line-up after missing the CAF Champions League action over the weekend, while Mduduzi Mdantsanse kept his spot in the midfield.

Eric Tinkler's men came into the clash winless in their last two league matches and they carved out the first chance, with Khanyisa Mayo forcing Salim Magoola into a save inside the opening 10 minutes.

The Natal Rich Boyz have found the scoring tough to come by on a regular basis after failing to score in their last two matches, although they have not conceded in their last five league encounters.

However, while the home side struggled to carve out chances in the first half goalkeeper Magoola was called upon four minutes before the break to deny Lakay and Mpho Makola.

Soccer Laduma website has moved to a new digital cathedral called Register on and enjoy not just the soccer news, you’ll also get to comment on stories, save articles for later, access weather and traffic alerts for your area and subscribe to newsletters.

The Citizens had the ball in the back of the net int he 58th minute when Mdantsane sent a volley past Magoola, but the goal was ruled out for an offside.

With the hosts struggling to break down City, the coaching staff opted for a change just before the hour mark as Yanela Mbuthuma made way for Sibonginhlanhla Mthethwa.

City coach Tinkler looked to his bence for the final 15 minutes as the young Luke Daniels and Taahir Goedeman replaced Wayde Lekay and Mdantsane.

With the game seemingly headed for a draw, the Natal Rich Boyz got the breakthrough in stoppage time courtesy of an own goal by Thato Mokeke.

Here's how they lined up:

Richards Bay: 80. Magoola, 2. Maphathe, 35. Mabua, 5. Mthethwa, 34. Nyuaza, 6. Mabaso, 30. Barns, 12. Mathebula, 9. Memela, 45. Ntsundwana.

Subs: 16. Jacobs, 38. Dlamini, 14. Majadibou, 20. Mthembu, 8. Mdabuka, 27. Makateng, 17. Mthethwa. 50. Zungu, 15. Hlongwa.

Cape Town City: 16. Keet, 2. Mkhize, 15. Cupido, 3. Mokeke, 24. Lakay, 5. Ambina, 8. Makola, 10. Mdantsane, 11. Mayo, 20. Darwin, 19. Lekay

Subs: 31. Mpandle, 7. Kajally, 41, Daniels, 13. Van Heerden, 26. Nodada, 9. Bender, 27. Goedeman, 30. Martin

You must be SIGNED IN to read and post comments.   

Click here to register

Show Comments ()
Match Centre
All Tournaments
Live Scores
South Africa Premier League
Blow the whistle

Do you have a news tip or story you would like to share with Soccer Laduma?

Email our news team
Feedback & Complaints

Got something on your mind? Get in touch!

Get in touch!